Companies have been honoured for working hard to reduce road crashes involving at-work drivers during Brake’s fourth annual Australasian Fleet Safety Awards.

The winners were announced at Brake’s annual reception for supporters held Thursday 11 October in Auckland. The awards, sponsored by Bridgestone, NZ Transport Agency, SurePlan and Suzuki recognise companies and individuals who have implemented successful initiatives, products or services to tackle fleet safety. The reception was attended by Brake supporters and awards finalists.

There were seven categories of awards, including two new awards for 2018, the Sustainable Journeys Award, and the Road Safety in the Community Award. Two individual awards were also presented to fleet professionals: the Road Risk Manager Award went to John Ireland, Fleet Manager at the University of Waikato; and the prestigious Outstanding Commitment to Road Safety Award was awarded to Geoff Duffy from Gough Group.

The 2018 Fleet Safety Award winners are:

  • Company Driver Safety Award, sponsored by SurePlan:
    NZ Racing Board
  • Safe Vehicles Award, sponsored by NZ Transport Agency:
    Hino Australia
  • Fleet Safety Product Award:


  • Sustainable Journeys Award:

Waste Management

  • Road Safety in the Community Award, sponsored by Bridgestone:

NZ Trucking Association – Safety MAN Truck

  • Road Risk Manager of the Year Award, sponsored by Suzuki:
    John Ireland (University of Waikato)
  • Outstanding Commitment to Road Safety Award:
    Geoff Duffy

More information on the awards, including photographs can be obtained from Caroline Perry at Brake by emailing [email protected].

Caroline Perry, Brake’s NZ Director, says: “We are delighted to have run our fourth Fleet Safety Awards, celebrating the great achievements of companies and individuals who are striving to make a real difference in the world of fleet safety. Congratulations to all the award winners and highly commended entrants for their impressive work over the past year.”

Bill Dyall, Bridgestone NZ says: “Bridgestone are delighted to sponsor the Road Safety in the Community Award and congratulate NZ Trucking Association – Safety MAN Truck on their success.

Their excellent efforts make them a deserved winner and will contribute a positive influence in improving road safety. This award recognises their school and community visits; their work on driver fatigue; and their mobile classroom programs, all of which are fantastic initiatives.”

Gordon Brown, Chief Executive Officer at SurePlan, says: “SurePlan is delighted to sponsor the Company Driver Safety Award and congratulates this year’s winner on their achievement. Organisations that are taking positive steps to reduce vehicle incidents are helping to create safer drivers and safer roads, and it’s great to be able recognise them through these awards.”

Steve West, AM Fleet Manager at Suzuki, says: “Suzuki is proud to sponsor the Road Risk Manager Award for a fourth year. We congratulate John on his dedication to the role and commitment to addressing road risk and improving fleet safety within his organisation.”

More information on the awards can be found at Details of how to enter the 2019 awards will be released at the end of 2018.

For media enquiries contact Caroline Perry on 021 407 953.

Have a comment? Leave a reply