The Australasian College of Road Safety (ACRS), Austroads, ARRB and C-MARC held the 2017 Australasian College of Road Safety Awards in the Crown Ballroom, Crown Perth Resort, Perth, Australia, on Wednesday 11 October 2017.

With a theme of “Expanding our horizons”, ARSC2017 showcased the regions’ outstanding researchers, practitioners, policy-makers and industry spanning the plethora of road safety issues identified in the United Nations Decade of Action for Road Safety: Road Safety Management; Infrastructure; Safe Vehicles; User Behaviour, and Post-Crash Care.

The National Road Safety Partnership Program (NRSPP) sponsor an award for the Best Paper with Implications for Improving Workplace Road Safety – $1000 plus certificate + Paper to be converted to an NRSPP Thought Leadership Piece & Webinar. This is the second year in a row that NRSPP has offered this award.

The winner of the NRSPP award was Dr Lori Mooren with Comparison of Experience-Based and Evidence-Based Safety Risk Management Features for Heavy Vehicle Transport Operations

The main findings of recent research into important safety management characteristics were compared against risk management factors included in the risk assessment process adopted by a major truck insurer. Independent research  into safety management features that distinguish between lower insurance claimers and higher insurance claimers identified 14 characteristics that show clear evidence of efficacy in safety management in trucking operations. When these were compared with the Zurich Risk Engineering grading criteria substantial consistency was found.

Last year, the winner was Dr Sharon Newnam. Her NRSPP Thought Leadership Piece on Missing A Trick: Safety Of Light Vehicle Drivers Takes A ‘Back Seat’ can be accessed here.

Have a comment? Leave a reply